Skip Navigation LinksHome > Our school > History > Past Principals

Past Principals


Mr R. MorrisonMr Richard Morrison


Mr Morrison worked for Education Queensland for his entire career. Prior to his appointment as Principal at Brisbane State High School (BSHS) in 2009, he was Principal at Centenary and Balmoral State High Schools and a Deputy Principal, Head of Department and Physical Education Teacher in a further 5 schools.  He was Executive Principal of BSHS for 2 years.


Mr D. F. SuttonMr David F. Sutton

BA BEd CertTeach

Mr Sutton started his teaching career as a Primary Teacher at Virginia State School. He transferred to secondary school after 18 months. His first posting was at Hendra State High School, followed by a number of other schools both in Brisbane and in the country. During this time, he was promoted to English Subject Master, Deputy Principal, and finally Principal. Mr Sutton says he has never regretted the decision he made one afternoon in Year 6—that he wanted to be a teacher when he grew up. He was Executive Principal of BSHS for 11 years.


Mr C. R. Mason Mr Colin R. Mason 


Mr Mason started his teaching career in Maryborough, where he lectured for a year at Queensland Institute of Technology. He was appointed Science Subject Master of Maryborough Boys' and Girls' High and was promoted to Deputy Principal of Murgon State High. He served in a similar capacity at Hendra State High where Mr Fitzgerald was Principal. In 1971 he became Principal of Atherton State High and then Principal of Cavendish Road State High. He was Principal of BSHS for 17 years.


Mr R. F. Fitzgerald Mr Raymond F. Fitzgerald 


Mr Fitzgerald was the first past student of the school to be appointed as its Principal. He began his teaching career in Queensland primary schools, however this was interrupted by time served at war in New Guinea as an officer in the Royal Australian Artillery. In 1953, Mr Fitzgerald taught at Bundaberg under Mr Lockie, who later became Principal of Brisbane State High.  He also served as Deputy Principal in Cairns and then as Principal at Toowong, Bremer and Hendra State High Schools. He was appointed to BSHS in 1972, a position he held until his retirement in 1981.


Mr G. W. LockieMr George W. Lockie 


Mr Lockie was both a Teacher (1940–1953) and Principal at BSHS. He started his teaching career at Virginia State School and later transferred to Ascot Training School. He was then transferred again to BSHS, tasked with improving the sporting activities. He was well suited to this role after representing Queensland in both cricket and football. He was Principal of BSHS for 11 years.


Mr F. H. R. Cafferky Mr Fredrick H. R. Cafferky 


Mr Cafferky began his career as a pupil teacher in 1916 and progressed to Principal of Wynnum State High School before being appointed as principal of BSHS in 1958.​


Mr A. B. CopemanMr Arthur B. Copeman ​


Mr Copeman began as a pupil teacher in 1910 and in 1940, became a District Inspector. He spent 7 years in this role and then became Principal of State Commercial High. This was followed by a period as Regional Director of Education in Central Queensland, and in June 1951, he was appointed to BSHS.


Mr H. G. WatkinSir Herbert G. Watkin 

BA DipEd

Sir Herbert came to BSHS having experienced a wide and varied career as a Teacher, Lecturer, Principal and District Inspector of schools. Following his role at BSHS, he was appointed as Administrative Head of the Education Department. He held this position for 13 years until his retirement.


Mr J. A. Barnes Mr J. A. Barnes 


After a number of years as both Assistant Headmaster and Headmaster in primary schools, Mr Barnes became Principal of Dalby School. He then spent 14 years at Cairns State High School followed by 6 years at Mackay State High School. He held this position for 2 years.


Mr I. WaddleMr Isaac Waddle


Mr Waddle spent a total of 24 years as Principal of BSHS. During the 'Waddle years', the school emerged from humble beginnings as the first free, state secondary school in Brisbane. Mr Waddle first retired in 1941, but was asked to return by the Minister of Education. He retired again on 19 June 1945 at the age of 70.