Skip Navigation LinksHome > Extra-curricular > Activities > Vocal Ensembles

Vocal Ensembles

​​Brisbane State High School has a thriving Vocal Music Program which enables students to participate in singing, as well as enjoy musical interaction with other students. 

 
 
Our ensembles rehearse once a week and perform at competitions, eisteddfods, Creative Generation and school events such as the Vocal Soirees, School Leaders’ Induction Ceremony, ANZAC Day Commemorative Ceremony, Foundation Day, Awards Ceremony and Year 12 Graduation. In addition, students are encouraged to participate in the Vocal Soirees as soloists and in small vocal ensembles; they enjoy participating in these ensembles and they enhance their musical skills as well. 

 
From time to time, the type and number of ensembles may vary.  The current structure is as follows:
  • Junior Girls Vocal Ensemble - girls from Year 7 – 9  
  • Senior Girls Vocal Ensemble - girls from Year 10 - 12 
  • Ragazzi - boys from Year 7-12. 
  • Belle Voci – girls and boys from Year 10, 11 and 12. This is a balanced group of selected senior vocalists who perform more advanced, 4-part vocal repertoire.

​​Rehearsal schedule ​

​​WednesdayThursday​Friday ​
7.15am – 8.30am
PAC 
Senior Girls Vocal Ensemble
7.30am – 8.30am
PAC foyer
Belle Voci
7.15am – 8.30am
PAC 
Junior Girls Vocal Ensemble
3.00pm – 4.00pm
PAC 
Ragazzi

​​Events

​​Date​EventEnsemble​

​Tuesday 16 May

​Creative Generation Voices 

​All ensembles

​Wednesday 17 May

​GPS Music Day

​Nominated students (boys only)

​Tuesday 30 May

​Qld Youth Music Awards Competition (evening)​

​Junior Girls Vocal Ensemble

Ragazzi (Year 7-9 only)

​Monday 24 July

​Foundation Day Assembly

​Senior Girls Vocal Ensemble

Junior Girls Vocal Ensemble

​Saturday 29 July
​Queensland Music Festival 'You're The Voice'
​Selected students

​Tuesday 1 August

​Year 7 GPS Music Day

​Year 7 nominated students

​Friday 18 August
​Gold Coast Eisteddfod
​All ensembles

​Saturday 9 September

​Music and International Food Festival (MIFF)

​All ensembles

​Wednesday 18 October

​Awards Ceremony

​Belle Voci

​Sunday 29 October

​Vocal Soiree

​All ensembles​

​Friday 17 November​​Graduation C​eremony​Senior Girls Vocal Ensemble​
​Monday 27 November​Year 9 Graduation CeremonyJunior Girls Vocal Ensemble
Junior Ragazzi
​Wednesday 29 November​End of Year Junior ConcertJunior Girls Vocal Ensemble
Junior Ragazzi

​​​Contact​​​​

Contact the Master in Charge​ if you would like to participate in the Vocal Ensembles.